Just the little things

I saw something yesterday which made me feel an ounce of happiness in the jet black cave that is my mind, so I wanted to share it with you guys.

It’s something so miniscule and flippant that I don’t even know why, but it made my day. I was walking into University with my coffee (correction – liquid of brewed disappointment and sewage) when I saw one of my tutors walking past.

I haven’t mentioned her before but she is one of my current girl crushes. Passionate about Victorian literature and her fashion is always so ‘on point’ that I can’t help but marvel at whatever outfit she is sporting. She always looks a pretty picture.

Crushed red velvet blazer. Patchwork. Gothic shirt. Dayum. I almost want to pull up a chair after the seminar and ask her if she’s ever thought about modelling in Vogue. Or well, maybe not Vogue as they seem to favour Gigi Hadid whereas she’s more Helena Bonham Carter (with even more of an edge!). But y’know, somewhere with style.

Anyway I saw her walking outside one of the buildings holding hands with this other woman. They were both smiling and chatting happily. My lecturer looked happy. This woman looked happy. It just shows the power of love you know? It’s simple and you may be thinking “who cares?” but just seeing her all perked made me a bit happy. As supporter of homosexuality it made me happy. Relationship PDA? Yeah it’s normal and something you see a lot. But seeing one of your teachers in PDA? That’s different. Also, you don’t often see Gay or Lesbian PDA all that frequently? Why is that? Society is so conditioned to think of Gay or Lesbian PDA as uncommon so we feel more surprised when we see it in real life. But one day maybe it’ll be as normal as Hetero PDA. I’m happy that my lecturer was confident enough and happy enough to showcase her relationship without a care in the world. Love truly does conquer all.

Yes I’m cheesy and soppy and bleh. But it was something small which brightened my day. 🙂

Leave a comment