Copenhagen – Denmark – Day 1

Aloha…or should I say ‘Hej’ as they do in Denmark?

I recently read an inspirational book titled “The Little Book of Hygge” and I will probably write a separate post about it but this book was bloody brilliant. It’s all about the Danish concept of Hygge which translates to a mood of being cozy and content. But it’s more than that. It’s a way of life and this book gives you the ideas and the means to live like a true Hyggemeister (I hate myself). Denmark is continuously ranked highly on the World Happiness Report of happiest countries and this intrigued me. Scandinavian culture and Hygge promotes a good sense of security and well-being which is something that a lot of Western nations, especially the UK and the US lack. But that’s all for another post…

In January, me and my friend Adi decided to book a short break to go and explore another city sometime in early Spring. Scouring Ryanair and Expedia, we decided on Copenhagen and I was eager as ever having just finished the book. Our flight was on Thursday morning from Luton Airport which is a bit of a trek from us but we travelled there the night before and stayed at Adi’s cousin’s house which isn’t too far from the aiport.

Day 1

I was exhausted on the morning of flight due to sleeping late the night before (great move, I know) so waking up, getting ready and making sure I had everything took longer than normal. We got to the airport in good time and I had a small window of time before the gates for our flight opened so I opted to get some pancakes and a Woo Woo from Frankie & Benny’s. What? If you’re at the airport, it doesn’t matter what time it is you’re basically obliged to drink, it’s just polite. 

A short flight later we were in Copenhagen! We decided to get the Copenhagen Card which is an all-inclusive card with unlimited travel and 87 attractions. It’s 99 Euros for one adult ticket.

Copenhagen’s version of ‘The Tube’ seemed so much cleaner and less crowded than the one in Landaaan Town. We reached our destination and the hostel (The Generator) was about a 15 min walk from the station. The heart of Copenhagen looked like a less crowded, prettier and cooler version of London so I was excited to explore more once we were settled.

We checked in, chose our bunk beds (sorry Adi for ‘dibsing’ the bottom one) and dumped our stuff in our rooms. By this point we were both starving so headed downstairs to get some food from The Generator’s bar/restaurant area. The aesthetic was on point! Vintage arcade machines, a cosy reading area with dozens of books and comfy sofas and beanies. Dim hygge lighting and pizzas were a good choice for my first meal in Copenhagen and I scoffed away.

We were both so zonked out from the late night and the flight that we decided to keep it lowkey on the first night. We opted for a Shisha sesh and found a decently priced place not too far from us. Smoky purple lighting and some R&B bangers, not a bad start to our break!

Photo 14-03-2019, 15 54 13

Photo 15-03-2019, 11 43 47

Photo 14-03-2019, 15 54 09

Photo 15-03-2019, 10 03 21

Leave a comment